Bourges in the final for the title of European Capital of Culture!

Published on Friday 3 March 2023

Discover our artistic Bid Book selected by the panel of European experts!

Following the deliberation of the European jury, the Ministry of Culture organized a press conference this Friday March 3, 2023 at 5.30 p.m. to announce the names of the finalist French cities which will continue the competition until the end of 2023. Bourges has been selected for the final sprint!

We have worked very hard to succeed in writing an authentic and original bid book in order to make Bourges a territory of the future. To accompany us in this home stretch, we invite you to discover the essence of our artistic program in this abstract.

To all those who have added their voice to this application, believing, sharing, mobilizing, participating and inspiring, THANK YOU. Our investment has been rewarded, Bourges has been heard and continues the adventure towards the title of European Capital of Culture!

The sleeping beauty is awake! Bourges had the legitimacy to participate in a European-scale competition, today Bourges proves once again that culture has always been part of its DNA.

In France, funding has been concentrated on the outskirts of metropolitan areas rather than on small and medium-sized towns. This had a strong impact on peripheral territories, small towns and median towns, rurality and what is now called ultra-rurality. But, times are changing, today’s results prove it. Small and medium-sized towns are what we call territories of the future, they are the backbone of the European Union and they can be the future of Europe. The title of European Capital of Culture is the ideal lever for Bourges to make its ambitions a reality.  

We were honored to share this competition with the other cities, in the first round, who did a tremendous job. In the second round, Bourges will be in competition with Rouen, Clermont-Ferrand, Montpellier whom we congratulate for the progress made. Let the best win !

We would like to thank all those who contributed to our application, the Berruyer.e.s, the City of Bourges, the Bourges Plus conurbation, the Cher department, the Centre-Val de Loire region, the structures and associations culture, businesses, artists, merchants and inhabitants of the territory.

Last news

ERIC-LEGOUHY

Following obtaining the title, the Bourges 2028 team is structuring itself for the rest of the project. We will see you at the end of March with a completed operational team. Until then, you can contact us at contact@bourges2028.org and follow us on social networks

Bourges en finale pour le titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture !

Publié le vendredi 3 mars 2023

Découvrez notre dossier de candidature artistique retenu par le panel d’experts européens !

A la suite de la délibération du jury européen, le Ministère de la Culture a organisé une conférence de presse ce vendredi 3 mars 2023 à 17h30 pour annoncer les noms des villes françaises finalistes qui poursuivront la compétition jusqu’à la fin de l’année 2023. Bourges a été sélectionnée pour le sprint final ! 

Nous avons travaillé très dur pour réussir à écrire un dossier de candidature authentique et original afin de faire de Bourges un territoire d’avenir. Pour nous accompagner dans cette dernière ligne droite, nous vous proposons de découvrir l’essentiel de notre programme artistique dans cet abstract (télécharger le dossier).

A tous ceux qui ont ajouté leur voix à cette candidature, croyant, partageant, mobilisant, participant et inspirant, MERCI. Notre investissement a été récompensé, Bourges a été entendue et continue l’aventure vers le titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture !

La belle endormie est réveillée ! Bourges avait la légitimité de participer à une compétition d’envergure européenne, aujourd’hui Bourges prouve une fois de plus que la culture a toujours fait partie de son ADN. 

En France, les financements ont été concentrés sur les périphéries des métropoles plutôt que sur les villes petites et moyennes. Cela a fortement impacté les territoires périphériques, les petites villes et les villes médianes, la ruralité et ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui l’ultra-ruralité. Mais, les temps changent, les résultats d’aujourd’hui nous le prouvent. Les villes petites et moyennes sont ce que nous appelons des territoires d’avenir, elles sont la colonne vertébrale de l’Union européenne et elles peuvent être l’avenir de l’Europe. Le titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture est le levier idéal pour que Bourges fasse de ses ambitions une réalité. 

Nous avons été honorés de partager cette compétition avec les autres villes, au premier tour, qui ont fait un travail formidable. Au deuxième tour, Bourges sera en compétition avec Rouen, Clermont-Ferrand, Montpellier que nous félicitons pour le chemin parcouru. Que la meilleure gagne ! 

Tous nos remerciements à nos partenaires : Yann GALUT, Maire de Bourges, Irène FÉLIX, Présidente de Bourges Plus, Jacques FLEURY, Président du Conseil Départemental du Cher et François BONNEAU, Président de la Région Centre – Val de Loire qui portent à nos côtés, depuis le début, cette candidature.

Dernières actualités

ERIC-LEGOUHY

Suite à l’obtention du titre, l’équipe Bourges 2028 se structure pour la suite du projet. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous fin mai avec une équipe opérationnelle complétée. Vous pouvez d’ici là nous contacter à contact@bourges2028.org et nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux