Bourges is European Capital of Culture 2028!

Published on Wednesday 13 December 2023

Following the deliberations of the European jury, the French Ministry of Culture organised a press conference on Wednesday 13 December 2023 at 6.00 pm to announce the name of the French city that would hold the title of European Capital of Culture 2028. And Bourges was named!

A huge thank you to all those who supported this bid, who believed in it, shared in it, mobilised their energies, participated in it and inspired it. Your commitment has paid off. Bourges has been heard and is now honoured with the title of European Capital of Culture. Bourges is a territory of the future, and this recognition is well-deserved!

The sleeping beauty is awake! Bourges is proving once again that culture is in its DNA.

In France, funding has been concentrated on the outskirts of major cities rather than on small and medium-sized towns. This has had a major impact on outlying areas, small and medium-sized towns, rural areas and what we now call ultra-rural areas. But times change. Today’s result proves it. Small and medium-sized towns are what we call territories of the future. They are the backbone of the European Union and they can be the future of Europe. Thanks to the title of European Capital of Culture, Bourges is turning its ambitions into reality.

We were honoured to share this competition with the other cities in the first round, who did a fantastic job. And especially those in the final round, with whom Bourges competed: Clermont-Ferrand, Montpellier-Sète and Rouen, whom we congratulate on the progress they have made.

We are delighted and proud to be returning to Bourges, ready to bring the projects contained in our bid to fruition over the next four years. But above all, LET’S CELEBRATE BOURGES, EUROPEAN CAPITAL OF CULTURE 2028 TOGETHER! The Bourges 2028 team, the City of Bourges and our partners invite you to join us at Bourges Town Hall on Thursday 14 December at 7pm, and to continue the festivities on the same day at Brasserie Bos, 11 Allée Napoléon III in Bourges, from 9pm.

The Bourges 2028 team and the City of Bourges would like to thank the people of Bourges, the Bourges Plus conurbation, the Département du Cher, the Région Centre-Val de Loire, all the employees of these local authorities, the artists, the cultural structures and associations, the companies and the sponsors (Caisse d’Épargne Loire-Centre, Eurovia, EY, Hôtel de Panette, La Bovida, Leroy Merlin, Monin, Suez, Terre d’Ailleurs, SEM Territoria), the French and European cities in the Matrix network (Blois, Châteauroux, Issoudun, Vierzon, Angoulême, La Rochelle, Avignon, Béthune, Guingamp, Nevers, Bad Ischl, Bodo, Budweis, Evora, Matera, Oulu and Tartu), the local shopkeepers and residents, who over the last three years have been involved and have worked extraordinarily hard and with unflagging determination on Bourges’ bid to become European Capital of Culture 2028. Thank you everyone.

Last news

ERIC-LEGOUHY

Following obtaining the title, the Bourges 2028 team is structuring itself for the rest of the project. We will see you at the end of March with a completed operational team. Until then, you can contact us at contact@bourges2028.org and follow us on social networks

Bourges est Capitale européenne de la Culture 2028 !

Publié le mercredi 13 décembre 2023

Communiqué de presse – 13 décembre 2024

A la suite de la délibération du jury européen, le Ministère de la Culture a organisé une conférence de presse ce mercredi 13 décembre 2023 à 18h00 pour annoncer le nom de la ville française lauréate au titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture 2028. Et c’est Bourges qui a été nommée !

Un immense merci à toutes celles et tous ceux qui ont soutenu cette candidature, qui ont cru en elle, l’ont partagée, ont mobilisé leurs énergies, y ont participé et l’ont inspirée. Votre engagement a porté ses fruits, Bourges a été entendue et se voit désormais honorée du titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture. Bourges est territoire d’avenir et cette reconnaissance est méritée !

La belle endormie est réveillée ! Bourges, qui avait légitimement sa place dans une compétition d’envergure européenne, prouve une fois de plus que la culture est inscrite dans son ADN.

En France, les financements ont été concentrés sur les périphéries des métropoles plutôt que sur les villes petites et moyennes. Cela a fortement impacté les territoires périphériques, les petites villes et les villes médianes, la ruralité et ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui l’ultra-ruralité. Mais, les temps changent. Le résultat d’aujourd’hui nous le prouve. Les villes petites et moyennes sont ce que nous appelons des territoires d’avenir. Elles sont la colonne vertébrale de l’Union européenne et elles peuvent être l’avenir de l’Europe. Grâce au titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture, Bourges fait de ses ambitions une réalité.

Nous avons été honorés de partager cette compétition avec les autres villes, au premier tour, qui ont fait un travail formidable. Et celles du deuxième tour, avec qui Bourges a été en compétition : Clermont-Ferrand, Montpellier-Sète et Rouen, que nous félicitons pour le chemin parcouru.

Notre retour à Bourges s’accompagne d’une profonde joie et de fierté, prêts à concrétiser les projets contenus dans notre dossier de candidature au cours des quatre prochaines années. Mais avant tout, CÉLÉBRONS ENSEMBLE BOURGES, CAPITALE EUROPÉENNE DE LA CULTURE 2028 ! L’équipe Bourges 2028, la Ville de Bourges ainsi que nos partenaires, vous invitent à nous rejoindre à la Mairie de Bourges le jeudi 14 décembre à 19h puis, de poursuivre les festivités le même jour à la Brasserie Bos, 11 Allée Napoléon III à Bourges, à partir de 21h.

L’équipe Bourges 2028 et la Ville de Bourges tiennent à remercier les Berruyers et Berruyères, l’agglomération Bourges Plus, le Département du Cher, la Région Centre-Val de Loire, l’ensemble des agents de ces collectivités,  les artistes, les structures et associations culturelles, les entreprises, les mécènes (Caisse d’Épargne Loire-Centre, Eurovia, EY, Hôtel de Panette, La Bovida, Leroy Merlin, Monin, Suez, Terre d’Ailleurs, SEM Territoria), les villes françaises et européennes du réseau de la Matrice (Blois, Châteauroux, Issoudun, Vierzon, Angoulême, La Rochelle, Avignon, Béthune, Guingamp, Nevers, Bad Ischl, Bodo, Budweis, Evora, Matera, Oulu et Tartu), les commerçants et habitants du territoire, qui au cours de ces trois dernières années ont été impliqués et ont travaillé de manière extraordinaire et avec une volonté à toute épreuve sur la candidature de Bourges, Capitale européenne de la Culture 2028. 

Dernières actualités

ERIC-LEGOUHY

Suite à l’obtention du titre, l’équipe Bourges 2028 se structure pour la suite du projet. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous fin mai avec une équipe opérationnelle complétée. Vous pouvez d’ici là nous contacter à contact@bourges2028.org et nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux