Why Bourges is a candidate?

Located in the middle of France, Bourges is a medium-sized, average city. Average? We should also use other adjectives to qualify Bourges. Bourges is magnificent, ambitious, and charming, Bourges is crucial. Yet Bourges has this adjective that sticks to its skin like a vice, it is average. It is also the name of the main street of Bourges, the rue Moyenne. Thus, Bourges is stuck in this intermediate place which pejoratively serves as a catch-all category for so many cities in France and Europe. The average is never good enough. It does not have the charm of the small ones. Nor the power of the big ones. Don’t we use in France the “diagonal of the void” to qualify this part of the territory as only composed of small and medium-sized cities? Void. No wonder the mayor of Bourges, Yann Galut, categorically refuses to describe Bourges as a medium-sized city and prefers to speak of a “city on a human scale”. 

How many cities in Europe are in the same situation as Bourges? Cities with less than 100,000 inhabitants represent half of the citizens in France and in the European Union (more than 150 million people). 

How to ensure that Europe becomes obvious for cities like Bourges? How to bring Europe to the most remote places? How to refocus Europe? We built our project around these questions.

illustrations-pages-c-beneste_0007_Halle au Blé

Bourges has the legitimacy to participate in a European-scale competition. In the Middle Ages and during the Renaissance, Bourges was a great humanist centre, with the Livre des Heures of Duc de Berry, the treasurer Jacques Coeur, a renowned university and a cathedral on the pilgrimage road or path to Compostela. Its contemporary history is that of French cultural decentralization orchestrated by André Malraux (writer, Minister of Culture 1958-69) with the opening of the first Maison de la Culture in France in 1963. Bourges has long been a land of creation and innovation in terms of culture through the Printemps de Bourges but also the cultural wasteland Antre Peaux.

In France, funding has been concentrated on the outskirts of metropolitan areas rather than on small and medium-sized towns. This had a strong impact on peripheral territories, small cities and median cities, rurality and what is now called ultra-rurality. But times are changing. And we can contribute to this with the help of the European Capital of Culture. Small and medium-sized cities are what we call territories of the future, they are the backbone of the European Union and they can be the future of Europe. The title of European Capital of Culture is the ideal lever for Bourges and the Center Val de Loire Region to develop a transformation project – urban, social, economic, and well-being, in soft and civic mobility. Because Bourges has designed an ambitious and innovative project that offers a new future to cities like ours. We are at the heart of France and at the heart of Europe.

bourges2028-photos-beneste21
ERIC-LEGOUHY

Following obtaining the title, the Bourges 2028 team is structuring itself for the rest of the project. We will see you at the end of May with a completed operational team. Until then, you can contact us at contact@bourges2028.org and follow us on social networks

Pourquoi Bourges est candidate ?

Bourges, ville moyenne ?

Située au milieu de la France, Bourges est une ville moyenne. Moyenne ? Nous devrions également utiliser d’autres adjectifs pour qualifier Bourges. Bourges est magnifique, ambitieuse, charmante, Bourges est cruciale. Pourtant Bourges a cet adjectif qui lui colle à la peau, elle est moyenne. C’est aussi le nom de la rue principale de Bourges, la rue Moyenne. Ainsi, Bourges est coincée dans ce lieu intermédiaire qui sert péjorativement de catégorie fourre-tout à tant de villes de France et d’Europe. Le moyen n’est jamais assez bon. Il n’a pas le charme des petits. Ni la puissance des grands. N’utilise-t-on pas en France la «diagonale du vide » pour qualifier cette partie du territoire uniquement composée de villes petites et moyennes ? Vide. Pas étonnant que le maire de Bourges, Yann Galut, refuse catégoriquement de qualifier Bourges de ville moyenne et préfère parler de « ville à taille humaine ».

Combien de villes en Europe sont dans la même situation que Bourges ? Les villes de moins de 100 000 habitants représentent la moitié des citoyens en France et dans l’Union européenne (plus de 150 millions de personnes).

Comment faire en sorte que l’Europe devienne une évidence pour des villes comme Bourges ? Comment amener l’Europe dans les endroits les plus reculés ? Comment recentrer l’Europe ? Nous avons construit notre projet autour de ces questions.

illustrations-pages-c-beneste_0007_Halle au Blé

Un territoire d’avenir

Bourges a la légitimité pour participer à une compétition d’envergure européenne. Au Moyen Âge et à la Renaissance, Bourges était un grand centre humaniste, avec le Livre des Heures du Duc de Berry, l’argentier Jacques Cœur, une université renommée et une cathédrale sur la route du pèlerinage de Compostelle. Son histoire contemporaine est celle de la décentralisation culturelle française orchestrée par André Malraux (écrivain, ministre de la culture 1958-69) avec en 1963 l’ouverture de la première Maison de la Culture en France. Bourges est depuis longtemps une terre de création et d’innovation en matière de culture au travers du Printemps de Bourges mais aussi de la friche culturelle Antre Peaux.

En France, les financements ont été concentrés sur les périphéries des métropoles plutôt que sur les villes petites et moyennes. Cela a fortement impacté les territoires périphériques, les petites villes et les villes médianes, la ruralité et ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui l’ultra-ruralité. Mais les temps changent. Et nous pouvons y concourir avec l’aide de la Capitale européenne de la Culture. Les villes petites et moyennes sont ce que nous appelons des territoires d’avenir, elles sont la colonne vertébrale de l’Union européenne et elles peuvent être l’avenir de l’Europe. Le titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture est le levier idéal pour que Bourges et la Région Centre Val de Loire développent un projet de transformation – urbaine, sociale, économique, de bien-être, en mobilité douce et citoyenne. Car Bourges a conçu un projet ambitieux et innovant qui offre un nouvel avenir aux villes comme la nôtre. Nous sommes au cœur de la France et au cœur de l’Europe.

bourges2028-photos-beneste21
ERIC-LEGOUHY

Suite à l’obtention du titre, l’équipe Bourges 2028 se structure pour la suite du projet. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous fin mai avec une équipe opérationnelle complétée. Vous pouvez d’ici là nous contacter à contact@bourges2028.org et nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux