The Capitals talk to you about it!

The candidate cities and elected European Capitals of Culture form a large family, a network of mutual aid and European exchanges. Bourges 2028 had the chance to welcome representatives of two great European Capitals of Culture that have gone down in history: Mons 2015, Belgium and Matera 2019, Italy.

Matera 2019, Italy

Giovanni Padula, General Commissioner of Matera 2019, European Capital of Culture, shared his valuable advice in Bourges, a city of similar size to Matera. Thanks to the title of European Capital of Culture, the tourist flow has increased from a few thousand to 750,000 visitors in the years following the Capital year in 2019.

Mons 2015, Belgium

Yves Vasseur, General Commissioner of Mons 2015, European Capital of Culture gave his point of view on the city of Bourges and assured us that, regardless of its size, Bourges has every chance of winning this title. Becoming the European Capital of Culture has allowed Mons to be visible on the map of Europe, and since 2015 its attractiveness continues to prosper. What we want with this title is to promote the city of Bourges and place it at the heart of Europe.

Example of the impact in figures with Mons 2015: 

  • 2 million visitors in 2015
  • Increase from 200,000 to 400,000 visitors per year after 2015
  • More than 700 jobs created
  • More than 400 associative projects were submitted, and around a hundred supported
  • New image of the city and improvement of Mons pride
  • Significant investments in training around new industrial sectors and attractiveness for innovative profiles 
  • Creation of 5 hotels and registration with European tour operators 
  • Opening of 25 additional restaurants after 2015
ERIC-LEGOUHY

Following obtaining the title, the Bourges 2028 team is structuring itself for the rest of the project. We will see you at the end of March with a completed operational team. Until then, you can contact us at contact@bourges2028.org and follow us on social networks

Les capitales vous en parlent !

Les villes candidates et élues Capitales européennes de la Culture forment une grande famille, un réseau d’entraide et d’échanges européen. Bourges 2028 a eu la chance d’accueillir les représentants de deux grandes Capitales européennes de la Culture qui sont entrées dans l’histoire : Mons 2015, Belgique et Matera 2019, Italie.

Matera 2019, Italie

Giovanni Padula, commissaire général de Matera 2019, Capitale européenne de la Culture a fait part de ses précieux conseils à Bourges, une ville de taille similaire à la sienne. Grâce au titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture, le flux touristique y est passé de quelques milliers à 750 000 visiteurs dans les années qui ont suivi l’année Capitale en 2019.

Mons 2015, Belgique

Yves Vasseur, commissaire général de Mons 2015, Capitale européenne de la Culture a donné son point de vue sur la ville de Bourges et nous a assuré que, qu’importe sa taille, Bourges a toutes ses chances pour gagner ce titre. Devenir Capitale européenne de la Culture a permis à Mons d’être visible sur la carte de l’Europe, et depuis 2015 son attractivité continue de prospérer. C’est ce que nous souhaitons pour Bourges si elle obtient le titre de Capitale européenne de la Culture.

Exemple des retombées en chiffre avec Mons 2015 : 

  • 2 millions de visiteurs en 2015
  • Passage de 200 000 à 400 000 visiteurs par an après 2015
  • Plus de 700 emplois créés
  • Plus de 400 projets associatifs déposés, une centaine de soutenus
  • Nouvelle image de la ville et amélioration de la fierté montoise
  • Investissements importants dans la formation autour de filières industrielles nouvelles et attractivité pour les profils innovants 
  • Création de 5 hôtels et inscription dans des tour-opérateurs européens 
  • Ouverture de 25 restaurants supplémentaires après 2015
ERIC-LEGOUHY

Suite à l’obtention du titre, l’équipe Bourges 2028 se structure pour la suite du projet. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous fin mars avec une équipe opérationnelle complétée. Vous pouvez d’ici là nous contacter à contact@bourges2028.org et nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux