The Natural History Museum in London at the Natural History Museum of Bourges

Published on Saturday 11 December 2021

Organised every year since 1964, the National History Museum in London (Great Britain), the Wildlife Photographer of the Year is the largest and most prestigious european competitions of photos of nature.

The best specialists from around the world submit (anonymously, it is the regulation), their most beautiful prints of the jury. There are also thousands of photographers, amateurs and children (a category consists of images of the ” ten years and less) !

The photos submitted to the jury are classified into eighteen distinct categories : animals in their environment, the behaviour of animals (those of mammals, birds,…), the underwater world, portraits of animals, the nature in black and white or ” the wild life in city and garden “…

Each year, the photos rewarded by the jury of the Wildlife Photographer of the Year are gathered in an exhibition in London. It is then shown around the world and in France, Bourges and its natural history museum of Bourges, who is hosting for the past 32 years ! For the past few years, the participants are more likely to ask their goal on the fragility of our environment and its suffering caused by the impacts of human activity. At the end of five years of research and work approach, Laurent Ballesta, French photographer, also a biologist and a diver, managed to photograph the spawning groupers in Polynesia. Finally, thanks to Émelin Dupieux, amateur photographer in the ardèche, the largest butterflies in our mountains, the Apollo, was able to be immortalized.

History :

Drawing its origin in a temporary exhibition held at the Palais Jacques-Coeur and then continue into the future under the action of Gabriel Foucher (1865-1949), entomologist, the new Natural History museum of Bourges opens its doors in 1927. It consisted for the most part of stuffed animals donated by Guy René Babault and tables ethnographic collected by the members of the expedition Citroën in Africa.

Born in Paris circa 1888, Guy René Babault began very soon his fortune in the service of science and the national Museum of natural history (Paris). As soon 1912-13, he made his first significant missions in the Himalayas, Ceylon, and English Eastern Africa (modern Kenya and Uganda). Interrupted by the first world war, he took over from 1918 his travels scientists first in Tunisia, accompanied by Albert Boudarel, maker of the Museum, and then to Kenya. At the end of the 1920s, he became a planter of coffee in the region of lake Kivu in the belgian Congo, and from there, sent for a dozen years, several specimens of insects, birds and mammals at the national Museum of natural history of Paris.

Last news

ERIC-LEGOUHY

Following obtaining the title, the Bourges 2028 team is structuring itself for the rest of the project. We will see you at the end of March with a completed operational team. Until then, you can contact us at contact@bourges2028.org and follow us on social networks

Le Natural History Museum de Londres au Muséum d’Histoire Naturelle de Bourges

Publié le samedi 11 décembre 2021

Organisé chaque année, depuis 1964, par le National History Museum de Londres (Grande-Bretagne), le Wildlife Photographer of the Year est le plus grand et le plus prestigieux des concours européens de photos de nature.

Les meilleurs spécialistes du monde entier soumettent (anonymement, c’est le règlement) leurs plus beaux tirages au jury. S’y présentent également des milliers de photographes amateurs et des enfants (une catégorie réunit les images des « dix ans et moins ») !

Les photos soumises au jury sont classées dans dix-huit catégories distinctes : les animaux dans leur environnement, les comportements animaux (ceux des mammifères, des oiseaux…), le monde sous-marin, les portraits d’animaux, la nature en noir et blanc ou encore « la vie sauvage en ville et au jardin »…

Chaque année, les photos récompensées par le jury du Wildlife Photographer of the Year sont réunies dans une exposition à Londres. Elle est ensuite présentée à travers le monde et en France, c’est Bourges et son muséum d’histoire naturelle de Bourges qui l’accueille depuis 32 ans ! Depuis quelques années, les participants sont de plus en plus nombreux à poser leur objectif sur la fragilité de notre environnement et ses souffrances causées par les impacts de l’activité humaine. Au terme de cinq ans de recherches et de travaux d’approche, Laurent Ballesta, photographe français, également biologiste et plongeur, est parvenu à photographier le frai des mérous en Polynésie. Enfin, grâce à Émelin Dupieux, photographe amateur ardéchois, le plus grand papillons de nos montagnes, l’Apollon, a pu être immortalisé.

Historique :

Puisant son origine dans une exposition temporaire organisée au Palais Jacques-Cœur puis pérennisée sous l’action de Gabriel Foucher (1865-1949), entomologiste, le nouveau musée d’Histoire Naturelle de Bourges ouvre ses portes en 1927. Celui-ci se composait pour l’essentiel d’animaux naturalisés donnés par Guy René Babault et de tableaux ethnographiques recueillis par des membres de l’expédition Citroën en Afrique.

Né à Paris vers 1888, Guy René Babault mit très tôt sa fortune au service de la science et du Muséum national d’histoire naturelle (Paris). Dès 1912-13, il effectua ses premières missions importantes dans l’Himalaya, à Ceylan et en Afrique Orientale Anglaise (actuels Kenya et Ouganda). Interrompu par la première guerre mondiale, il reprit à partir de 1918 ses voyages scientifiques tout d’abord en Tunisie, accompagné d’Albert Boudarel, préparateur du Muséum, puis au Kenya. A la fin des années 1920, il devint planteur de café dans la région du lac Kivu, au Congo belge et, de là, envoya pendant une dizaine d’années plusieurs spécimens d’insectes, d’oiseaux et de mammifères au Muséum national d’histoire naturelle de Paris.

Dernières actualités

ERIC-LEGOUHY

Suite à l’obtention du titre, l’équipe Bourges 2028 se structure pour la suite du projet. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous fin mai avec une équipe opérationnelle complétée. Vous pouvez d’ici là nous contacter à contact@bourges2028.org et nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux